You Might be Surprised that These Four Foods Aren’t Vegan

Photo by Monika Grabkowska on Unsplash

In order to successfully follow a vegan diet, a lot of attention is needed. There are so many food products that, despite appearances, actually do contain animal products making them unsuitable for those looking to avoid eating those ingredients. Here are four foods that you might’ve never suspected not to be vegan.

Gummy Candies

Gummy candies might seem like an obvious vegan item, but believe it or not, they’re chock full of animal products. The gelatin used to give them their classic chewy consistency is produced with animal collagen.

Worcestershire Sauce

Worcestershire sauce might be a tangy, delicious flavor bomb, but unless you buy a vegan version, it contains anchovies. This means that if you’re following a vegan diet, you’ll need to find a special version in order to enjoy it.


It might seem obvious after thinking about it for a moment, but many people forget that chocolate technically isn’t vegan. Milk is used in the production of chocolate products, which means that it does contain an animal product.


Now, this is just downright strange. Figs are a fruit, yes, but they often contain wasps. How is this possible? Well, female wasps often lay their eggs inside of these fruits, and they often can’t escape. This means that they die and decompose inside of figs, meaning that they often aren’t vegan.